www.themediaproject.com >> The SHINE Awards >> 2000 Winners




Facts & Figures

News & Shows

Take P.A.R.T.

Our Services


 3940 Laurel Canyon Blvd #237 ● Studio City, CA 91604 ● P: 323.318.0825 ● E: healthytv@themediaproject.com


   ||   ||  About Us  HELPline  Search  Join Our Mailing List ||

The Media Project—The Entertainment Industry's Resource on Sexual Health

The SHINE Awards—2000 Winners

The 2000 SHINE Awards were held on October 25th at the Skirball Cultural Center. Host Brad Sherwood of Whose Line is It Anyway fame started the evening with an improv skit that had the audience in stitches. This year The Media Project decided to take a look at some sexual health media milestones television has concord thus far, including the first: miscarriage, mention of masturbation, legal abortion, mention of the pill, condom sighting, series episode featuring a lesbian, gay series regular, series regular with HIV, and main character to come out.

The evening was a great success in part due to our wonderful presenters: Grammy winner and star of Moesha, Brandy and her co-star/brother Ray J., the legendary Buddy Hackett, Mel Harris of thirtysomething. and Something So Right, Diane Delano of Popular, Lainie Kazan, Alan Rachins & Mimi Kennedy of Dharma & Greg, Loveline host, Dr. Drew Pinsky, Chris Mulkey of our Drama winner, Any Day Now, Susanna Thompson from Once and Again, Kerr Smith who plays Jack McPhee on our Special Writers Award winner Dawson's Creek, seven time Emmy nominated, Doris Roberts of Everybody Loves Raymond, John Spencer & Dule' Hill from The West Wing, the famed Cagney & Lacey team Tyne Daly & Sharon Gless were reunited to present our Informational/Documentary category, and Topher Grace & Laura Prepon of That ‘70's Show accepted their show's Series Storyline award.

And the 2000 SHINE Awards winners are …

Comedy Episode—It's a tie!
Moesha—"Let's Talk About Sex" (UPN)
Popular—"Booty Camp" (WB)

Drama Episode
Any Day Now—"Hey Ugly" (Lifetime)

Entertainment Special
The Unknown Cyclist (Starz!)

True Life: I Need Sex RX (MTV) .

Talk Show
Loveline—"Buddy Hackett Episode" (MTV)

Youth Program
Teen Files—"The Truth About Sex" (UPN)

Scene Stealers Honors Go To…
Buffy the Vampire Slayer—"Where the Wild Things Are" (WB)
Dharma & Greg—"Tie-Dyeing the Knot" (ABC)
Sex and the City—"Attack of the 5'10" Woman" (HBO)
The West Wing—"Pilot" (NBC)
Will & Grace—"An Affair to Forget" (NBC)

Series Storyline Recipient
That '70's Show (FOX)

Special Writers' Award
Dawson's Creek (WB)

Special thanks goes to all the generous sponsors, donors, and volunteers who made the evening a success!

Click here to view the 2004 WINNERS, 2003 WINNERS, 2002 WINNERS, and 2001 WINNERS.

send this page to a friendSend this page to a friend >>











 3940 Laurel Canyon Blvd #237 ● Studio City, CA 91604 ● P: 323.318.0825● E: healthytv@themediaproject.com


<< make the media project your homepage

top of page >> home >>